CombinaTexas 2013: Combinatorics in the South-Central U.S.

University of Houston-Downtown, Houston, Texas
April 20-21, 2013

A two-day discrete mathematics conference focusing on combinatorics and graph theory,
specifically substructures of graphs and dominating sets

Plenary Speakers (in alphabetical order):
Siemion Fajtlowicz  University of Houston
Odile Favaron  LRI, University Paris Sud
Jerrold Griggs  University of South Carolina
Adriana Hansberg   UPC Barcelona
Brendan McKay  Australian National University
William Staton University of Mississippi

Registration: Please register for CombinaTexas 2013 by filling out the online registration form. There is no registration fee for the conference. The form includes information for applying for support and submitting a contributed talk or a poster, but please fill out the form even if you do not want to apply for support or contribute a talk or poster.

Contributed Talks: There will be sessions of contributed talks, for which we welcome submissions on topics closely related to combinatorics and graph theory, with preference given to talks related to the specific theme of the conference. The conference will begin on Saturday morning, April 20, and end on Sunday afternoon, April 21. Please submit contributed talks under the Contributed Talks/Posters section at the bottom of the online registration form.

Financial Support: Now in its 14th year, the CombinaTexas Conference is dedicated to the strengthening and enrichment of the mathematics personnel base. We will have limited financial support of up to $250 to partially cover domestic travel and local expenses for some participants. Preference will be given to those contributing a 20-minute talk or a poster. Undergraduate and graduate students, junior faculty, women, minorities, and persons with disabilities are especially encouraged to participate and to apply for financial support.

If you wish to apply for financial support, please fill out the request for financial support section on the online registration form. Please indicate your support needs. Early application is encouraged. The deadline for applying for financial support is Monday, March 11, 2013.

Deadlines: Please note the following deadlines:

Lodging: A block of discounted-rate rooms has been reserved for CombinaTexas attendees at two downtown hotels. Both hotels are conveniently located near the Main Street Square MetroRAIL station, just two stops from UH-Downtown. Hotel check-in is Friday, April 19 and check-out is Sunday, April 21. You must book by Friday, March 22 to be eligible for the special conference room rate!
Courtyard Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Click to book a room: King $109.00 per night or Double $109.00 per night

Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center

Click to book a room: Studio $109.00 per night

Directions, Transportation, and Parking: The University of Houston-Downtown (UHD) is located in downtown Houston, Texas. Two major airports serve Houston: George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH) is approximately 20 miles away, and William P. Hobby Airport (HOU) is approximately 13 miles away.

You may choose to rent a car or take an airport shuttle to downtown Houston. Once you are here, UH-Downtown and the conference hotels are conveniently located on the Houston METRORail, a fast and convenient way to travel to and from downtown, midtown, the Museum District, and Texas Medical Center.

Parking is available for free in the Visitor Parking Garage, as seen in green on the following campus map.
When you arrive at the Visitors Parking Garage entrance, you will obtain a white parking ticket from the call box that enables you to enter the lot for free. You may park on any level. During the conference you will receive a yellow validated parking ticket.  Before exiting the garage, you will take both tickets to the payment machine (1st floor-Visitors Parking Garage) that allows you to exit the parking lot for free.

All conference activities will take place at the UHD Commerce Street Building (Building #3 on the following campus map).

Organizing Committee:

Ryan Pepper, University of Houston-Downtown,
Ermelinda DeLaVina, University of Houston-Downtown,
Bill Waller, University of Houston-Downtown,
Tim Redl, University of Houston-Downtown,
Daniela Ferrero, Texas State University--San Marcos,

Funding for CombinaTexas 2013 is provided by: